Pritzker Prize-winners' best buildings transformed into animated toy blocks

My First Pritzker is an animation by Andrea Stinga that re-imagines the works of architecture’s Pritzker Prize-winners as children’s building blocks.

Barcelona-based architect and motion designer Stinga chose one building from each the 40 winners of the prize to animate as children’s toys in a satisfying video that romps through 39 years of architectural history.

The Pritzker Prize began in 1979 and is awarded every year, honouring a living architect who demonstrates talent, vision and commitment in their career. In 1988 a decade of the prize was celebrated by selecting two architects to receive the honour.

“I’m passionate about finding simple, clean and fun solutions through animation to explain the beautiful complexity of architecture,” Stinga, founder of Ombua Architecture, told Dezeen.

“I chose one of the selected works for each winner and create the building using simply wooden shapes, like a child’s game, to represent them in an iconic and synthetic way so they can be easily recognised.”

As the animation runs along a timeline, each prize-winning architect’s most famous work has been distilled into simple forms and realised in digital versions of wooden shapes.

Read more on Dezeen:

Subscribe to our YouTube channel for the latest architecture and design movies:

Like Dezeen on Facebook:
Follow Dezeen on Twitter:
Follow us on Instagram:
Check out our Pinterest:



Send this to a friend