DigitalFUTURES Talk: Sand Futures: Architecture in the Age of Diminishing Resources



23 April at 10:00am EDT / 4:00 pm CET / 10:00pm China

Title:
Sand Futures: Architecture in the Age of Diminishing Resources

Sand is one of the most consumed resources in the world, yet it is a finite resource and only a small percentage is deemed useable for construction. The role of sand is absolutely critical to modern construction and because of this its impact on sustainability is directly related to architecture. In this session we discuss the future of sand as a critical resource in design and its potential relationship with sustainable materialities, technologies, and fabrication scenarios. We will bring forward the issues regarding the global sand situation and the potential of sustainable sand based processes. The panel includes Alireza Borhani (CCA Digital Craft Lab), Jumaanah AlHashemi (University of Michigan) and Marcus Farr (American University Sharjah).

Speakers: Alireza Borhani / California College of the Arts, Jumaanah AlHashemi/ University of Michigan, & Marcus Farr / American University Sharjah

Moderator: Marcus Farr

Language: English
Live streaming on YouTube and BiliBili

#digitalFUTURES #4DPrinting #ComputationalDesign #ICDStuttgart #IntCDC

source

Save This Post

No account yet? Register