A Beginner’s Guide to the Character Panel in Illustrator



► Download unlimited Illustrator add-ons with Envato Elements: https://elements.envato.com/add-ons/compatible-with-adobe-illustrator?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description

In the following tutorial, you will learn everything you need to know about Adobe Illustrator’s Character panel. Besides this, you’ll learn how to stylize text in Illustrator using the Glyphs, OpenType, and Character Styles panels.

00:00 Introduction
01:27 How to Open the Character Panel
02:35 Fonts
03:16 Search and Filter Fonts
05:29 Font Style
05:50 Font Height Reference
06:52 Font Size
08:00 Leading
09:08 Kerning
10:30 Tracking
11:33 Vertical & Horizontal Scale
11:49 Baseline Shift
12:52 Character Rotation
13:23 All Caps & Small Caps
13:56 Superscript & Subscript
14:44 Underline & Strikethrough
15:00 Language & Anti-aliasing
15:42 Glyphs
16:10 Glyphs Panel
16:50 Open Type Panel
17:13 Standard Ligatures
17:52 Contextual Alternates
18:00 Discretionary Ligatures
18:10 Swashes
18:27 Stylistic Alternates
18:34 Titling Alternates
18:48 Ordinals
19:08 Fractions
19:18 Style Sets
19:36 Figure
20:11 Position
20:32 Snap to Glyphs
21:20 Snap to Glyphs Baseline
21:38 Snap to Glyphs x-Height
21:54 Snap to Glyph Bounds
22:18 Snap to Glyphs Proximity Guides
22:55 Snap to Glyphs Angular Guides
23:22 Snap to Glyphs Anchor Point
23:38 Touch Type Tool Button
24:12 Standard Vertical Roman Alignment
24:50 Fractional Widths
25:20 No-Break
25:33 Reset Panel
25:44 Edit Default Character Panel Settings
26:08 Character Styles
26:35 Outro

Assets Used in This Video:
• Retro Winter Music Flyer Set: https://elements.envato.com/retro-winter-music-flyer-set-8GLLDCY?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Art Deco Wedding Invitation: https://elements.envato.com/wedding-invitation-art-deco-T3H8B5W?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Summer Festival Flyer: https://elements.envato.com/summer-festival-flyer-9E5RGP?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Summer Party Flyer: https://elements.envato.com/summer-party-flyer-03-9KUCR6?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Bronze Peach Wedding Invitations: https://elements.envato.com/bronze-peach-wedding-invitations-HP3YAE?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Web Design Templates: https://elements.envato.com/set-of-web-design-templates-8799H2?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Back to School Flyer: https://elements.envato.com/back-to-school-flyer-SVK7PKC?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Ecology Webinar Flyer: https://elements.envato.com/ecology-webinar-flyer-7W6VG7W?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description
• Stand-Up Comedy Flyer: https://elements.envato.com/stand-up-comedy-flyer-5HZ2R8?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description

Read more in A Beginners Guide to the Character Panel in Illustrator on Envato Tuts+: https://design.tutsplus.com/tutorials/a-beginners-guide-to-the-character-panel-in-illustrator–cms-42092?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description

– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –
Envato Tuts+
Discover free how-to tutorials and online courses. Design a logo, create a website, build an app, or learn a new skill: https://tutsplus.com/?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description

Envato Elements
All the creative assets you need under one subscription. Customize your project by adding unique photos, fonts, graphics, and themes.
► Download Unlimited Stock Photos, Fonts & Templates with Envato Elements: https://elements.envato.com/?utm_campaign=yt_tutsplus_780zVbHRQYw&utm_medium=referral&utm_source=youtube.com&utm_content=description

► Subscribe to Envato Tuts+ on YouTube: https://www.youtube.com/tutsplus
► Follow Envato Tuts+ on Twitter: https://twitter.com/tutsplus
► Follow Envato Tuts+ on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/tutsplus
– – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – – –

source

Save This Post

No account yet? Register