2012 Shortlist Revealed!

Flag black

Press kit - Press release - 2012 Shortlist Revealed! - The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards

2012 Shortlist Revealed!

London, United Kingdom

The Emirates Glass LEAF Awards

21st September 2012, The Four Seasons Park Lane, London, UK

London, United Kingdom, 2012-08-21 –

The 9th Emirates Glass LEAF Awards is pleased to announce its 2012 shortlist of entries. All the projects have covered specific contributions to the buildings and solutions that are setting the benchmark for the international architectural community.

This year’s 9th Emirates Glass LEAF Awards will be taking place at the luxurious Four Seasons Park Lane, London on 21st September 2012.

This year’s shortlist includes:
Mixed – Use Building of the year
Steven Holl Architects, with Daeyang Gallery & House, Seoul, South Korea
Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects, with Tidemill Academy & Deptford Lounge, Deptford, UK

Residential Building of the year (Single Occupancy)
Studiomk27, with Cobogo House Sao Paulo, Brazil
Sou Fujimoto Architects, with House like a single Tree, Tokyo, Japan Architectureburo Govaert & Vanhoutte, with House Roces, Bruges, Belgium Sanjay Puri Architects, with Courtyard House, Rajasthan, India
Peter Rose & Partners, with East House, Chilmark, Massachusetts, US

Residential Building of the year (Multiple Occupancy)
Studio Daniel Libeskind, DCA Architects PTE Ltd, with Reflections at Keppel Bay, Singapore
Rafiq Azam, with SA Residence, Dhaka, Bangladesh
Gonzalo Mardones Architecture Studio, with Ignacia Apartments, Santiago, Chile
Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanioglu, with Loft Gardens, Levent, Istanbul

Commercial Building of the year
Vittorio Grassi Architetto & Partners, with Koa Zambon Company Restaurant, Bresso, Italy
Mossessian & Partners, with 5 Merchant Square, London, UK
David Chipperfield Architects, with Peek & Cloppenburg Flagship Store Vienna, Austria
WOW Architects, with Vivanta Hotel, Bangalore, India
Tabanlioglu Architects Melkan Gursel & Murat Tabanioglu, with Asmacati Shopping &meeting point, Balcova, Turkey
Peter Rose & Partners, with Housing Tower at Kripalu Center for Yoga & Health, Stockbridge, US

International Interior Design Award
Hironaka Ogawa & Associates, with Forest Chapel, Gunma, Japan
Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS, with The Royal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia
Isay Weinfeld, with Rodeio Restaurant, Sao Paulo, Brazil
Kay Elliott, with Titanic Belfast, Belfast, UK

Refurbishment of the year
Pollard Thomas Edwards Architects, with The Granary, London, UK
Magma Architecture, with Masrah Al Qasba Theatre, Emirate of Sharjah, UAE
Pepe Gascon Arquitectura, with Sant Miquel Special Education School, Sant Feliu de Llobregat, Barcelona, Spain.
Hugh Broughton Architects, with Maidstone Museum East Wing, Kent, UK

Young Architect of the year award
Zai Shirakawa, with Enbutsu-do Hall & Eifuku-ji Temple, Ehime Prefecture, Shikoku, Japan
Martin Gruenanger, with Green Knot, Graz, Austria
Marco Guarnieri, with 2 Whites Grounds, London, UK

Public Building of the year
Studio Daniel Libeskind, with Dresden Museum of Military History, Dresden, Germany
GPY Arquitectos, with SEGAI Research Centre, University of La Laguna, Tenerife, Canary Islands, Spain
Sou Fujimoto Architects, with Musashino Art University Museum & Library, Tokyo, Japan
Billard Leece Partnership & Bates Smart with HKS, with TheRoyal Children’s Hospital, Melbourne, Australia.
Stephen Marshall Architects, with Rothschild Foundation Archive, Waddesdon, UK Isay Weinfeld, with Hotel Fasano Boa Vista, Porto Feliz, Brazil

Best Sustainable Development
Magma Architecture, with London Shooting Ranges, Woolwich, London, UK
Iotti + Pavarani Architetti, with Domus Technica (centre for advanced training), Brescello, Italy
Paolo Verducci Architetti, with New Headquarters for Archimede Solar Energy, Massa Martana, Italy
Arup Associates, with Druk White Lotus School, Shey, India

Best Future Building
Skidmore Owings + Merrill, with Manhattan Loft Gardens, London, UK
3XN Architects, with Green School Stockholm, Stockholm, Sweden
Aedas Limited, with CX 2-1, Singapore~
Aedas Limited, with Oasis Mall, Sanya, China
Aedas Limited, with Express Rail Link West Kowloon Terminus, Hong Kong, China
Mossessian & Partners, with Place Lalla Yeddouna, Fez, Morocco
MZ Architects, with The Rock Stadium, Al Ain, UAE
Sanjay Puri Architects, with Chapel at Murcia, Murcia, Spain
Victor Sala Bori, with Landscraper, Castelldefels, Spain
Find out which lucky projects will take the crown when we announce the winners live on
Friday 21st September at the Four Seasons Park Lane.

The awards are open to all individuals and organisations that have made an outstanding contribution to the world of architecture. Previous winners have included Zaha Hadid, David Chipperfield, SOM, Steven Holl and Terry Farrell.


– 30 –
Media contact

Source link

Up Next


Send this to a friend