The Design Portfolio That Got me Freelance Work and Jobs – Review Part 2



👉 Watch Part 1: https://youtu.be/QowXUHYEzT8
Matthew Encina reviews 20 years of his art and design portfolio work from high school till now. See his portfolios throughout his entire career. From graduating from ArtCenter, and then going on to own his own company, freelancing, and eventually becoming a creative director at Blind.

🖥 Take a course and learn from Matthew: https://bit.ly/Encina-Courses

0:00 – Matthew Encina, as a young artist and designer
1:32 – Starting my design studio, BORN in 2007
2:33 – Greg Gunn and the 3 Legged Legs, 2006
3:58 – BORN Summer reel 2007
7:12 – How the market crash affected my business in 2008
9:43 – How to deal with failure
11:53 – Becoming a freelance designer, 2009
13:06 – The work Matthew Encina was doing as a freelance motion designer
16:37 – How to be a successful freelance designer
18:10 – If freelance is good, why go staff?
19:29 – Becoming a young creative director in advertising, 2011
21:00 – I don’t know how to talk to clients and direct my team
22:13 – Why it’s important to learn how to communicate as a designer
22:40 – Turning gaps and shortcomings into opportunities
23:42 – The first projects I’ve done as a creative director
24:14 – Working for JK Rowling and Playstation
28:05 – The later years of being a creative director, 2014
29:10 – Working with Coldplay
30:10 – The process of working on an interactive music video
31:54 – Playing video games lead to the biggest opportunities
32:27 – Working with Xbox
36:18 – Reflecting on 20 years of creating, failing, and learning
38:51 – Matthew Encina, what’s next?

More of Matthew
Portfolio Work: https://www.matthewencina.com/
Social handle: @matthewencina
YouTube Channel: @Matthew Encina
Matthew’s TEDxCSLUB talk: https://youtu.be/Ow2cZxpY2TE

Mentioned in this video 👇

🥚 BORN members ❤️:
Chris Riehl – https://www.linkedin.com/in/chris-riehl-745641113/
Jiaren Hui – http://www.jiarenhui.com/
Michael Relth – https://michaelrelth.squarespace.com/
Brendan Wiuff – https://www.brendanwiuff.com/
Aaron Bjork – https://aaronbjork.com/
Penny Nederlander – https://www.pennyzee.com/

Greg Gunn, 3LL – https://www.ggunn.com/
Adam Bluming – https://adambluming.com/
Blind – https://blind.com/
Mirada – http://mirada.com/
Logan – https://logan.tv/
BUCK – https://www.buck.co/

#Portfolio #GraphicDesign #1BminusOne #Mograph
===
👉Subscribe: https://goo.gl/vB9zoP
👉See our main channel: https://goo.gl/F2AEbk

#TheFutur

Want a deeper dive? Typography, Lettering, Sales & Marketing, Social Media and The Business of Design courses available here:
https://goo.gl/bRt5qd

If you’re a complete beginner, consider taking any of these Adobe Creative Cloud fundamental courses from our friends at Bring Your Own Laptop: http://byol.me/thefutur


Love the content? Become a sustaining member for $5/mo today.
https://goo.gl/nwekfL

Our recommended products and Booklist:
https://kit.co/TheFuturIsHere

Kits & Proposals:
https://goo.gl/mSjuWQ

Visit our website:
https://www.thefutur.com

FREE resources:
https://goo.gl/Qh6gHr

Mandarin (Chinese) Subtitles on UiiUii
https://uiiiuiii.com/?s=the+futur


AFFILIATE LINKS*

🙏 Support The Futur but purchasing through our affiliate links:
Amazon: http://bit.ly/thefuturishere
Webflow: http://bit.ly/2EbET9l
Retro Supply Co.: http://bit.ly/2GW8gzR
Creative Market: https://goo.gl/g4jlTE
Design Cuts: http://bit.ly/2GSsAR3

✍️ Sharpen your skills by taking a course, using our affiliate links:
Skillshare: https://goo.gl/YCo2uT
School of Motion: http://bit.ly/futur-som
Bring Your Own Laptop Tutorials: https://byol.me/thefutur

🎧 Do you like the music? Check out the music libraries we use in our affiliate links below:
Epidemic Sound: https://bit.ly/2T647tR
Musicbed: http://bit.ly/futurmb
Artlist: http://bit.ly/2uWdna7

*By making a purchase through any of our affiliate links, we receive a very small commission at no extra cost to you. This helps us on our mission to provide quality education to you. Thank you.


Futur Podcast on iTunes: 🎙
https://itunes.apple.com/us/podcast/the-futur/id1209219220?mt=2
Spotify: 🎙


We love getting your letters. Send it here:
The Futur
c/o Chris Do
1702 Olympic Blvd.
Santa Monica, CA 90404
USA


Host– Matthew Encina
Director– Matthew Encina
Cinematographer– Ricky Lucas
Editors– Ricky Lucas, Matthew Encina
Social Team– Elle Money, Alex Burlui
Futur Theme Music – Adam Sanborne http://www.adamsanborne.com
Typefaces: Futura, DIN, Helvetica Neue, Calibre, Champion Gothic
Futur theme song— Adam Sanborne

source

Save This Post

No account yet? Register