Architecture + Philosophy, What can architects learn from philosophy



DigitalFUTURES
DOCTORAL CONSORTIUM
What can architects learn from philosophy?
7 November (10.00 am EST; *11.00 pm China* ; 4.00 pm CET)

Fredric Jameson
Guest panelists:
Michael Speak
Michael Hays

ARCHITECTURE AND PHILOSOPHY
The aim of DigitalFUTURES is to democratize architectural education by making important architectural ideas available for free to architects and students across the globe, regardless of gender, religion, ethnicity, age or economic standing. Education, we believe, should be a human right, and not a privilege of the wealthy.

The principle behind the Doctoral Consortium is that it no longer makes sense for individual professors to teach an individual group of students in an individual classroom, when we can now all use a digital global platform to bring the very best professors to students across the globe.

What can architects learn from philosophy?

This course introduces the thinking of Walter Benjamin, Michel Foucault, Gilbert Simondon, Jean Baudrillard, Jacques Derrida, Hélène Cixous, Gilles Deleuze, Fredric Jameson, and Judith Butler, and considers how it might inform the discourse of architecture and urbanism. The course aims to open up new ways of understanding architecture and to introduce a new set of theoretical ‘tools’ to rethink architectural theory.

Each session will consist of presentations by some of the world’s leading architectural theorists, philosophers and cultural theorists, and a subsequent panel discussion.

This course is free and open to masters and doctoral students around the world.

source

Save This Post

No account yet? Register