2017 Pritzker Architecture Prize Laureates: Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta

Rafael Aranda, Carme Pigem and Ramon Vilalta have been named as the laureates of the 2017 Pritzker Prize. The three architects have worked collaboratively together as RCR Arquitectes since 1988.

This 39th incarnation of the Prize represents the first instance in which three architects have been recognised at once, and only the second time—following Rafael Moneo in 1996—that Spanish practitioners have been honored.

In an exclusive interview with ArchDaily, Ramon Vilalta remarked,

“We’re living in a world in which everything is complex and uncertain, and that can be disorienting. We are passionate about our architecture and we live it with great intensity, trying to not be distracted. In this sense, what can this prize give us? I’d like to be able to do less projects but with more intensity.”

Learn more about the winners and their architecture on http://www.archdaily.com/806200/2017-pritzker-prize-rcr-arquitectes-rafael-aranda-carme-pigem-ramon-vilalta


You need to login or register to bookmark/favorite this content.